PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Thinkpad SL400 integrated webcam

wawacito
February 1st, 2009, 03:15 AM
Hello - I'm a newbie here. Just installed 8.10 onto my new Lenovo Thinkpad SL400 laptop. Have installed all the updates that are available. I cannot get my webcam to show up on Ekiga or Skype.

My kernel is 2.6.27-11 generic.

"lsusb" command tells me:
Bus 008 Device 002: ID 17ef:480b Lenovo

"dmesg | less" command tells me:
[ 13.943588] Linux video capture interface: v2.00
[ 13.995062] thinkpad_acpi: Not yet supported ThinkPad detected!
[ 14.096962] HDA Intel 0000:00:1b.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 2
[ 14.097047] HDA Intel 0000:00:1b.0: setting latency timer to 64
[ 14.113374] uvcvideo: Found UVC 1.00 device Integrated Camera (17ef:480b)
[ 14.166562] uvcvideo: Failed to query (135) UVC control 1 (unit 0) : -32 (exp. 26).
[ 14.189693] usbcore: registered new interface driver uvcvideo
[ 14.189712] USB Video Class driver (v0.1.0)

Does this mean it's not supported?
Is there something I can do?

wawacito
February 6th, 2009, 06:44 PM
I'm guessing not a lot of people are using webcams?

I've been scouring the web looking for programs that will allow video chat between linux and windows - linux still seems to be severely lacking in the video chat area - not surprising then that my webcam doesn't work i guess.

my integrated webcam doesnt work on my lenovo SL400 laptop.
i have also a Microsoft NX-6000 that works with Ekiga on my linux 8.10 desktop - but not with skype. If I plug in that same NX-6000 to my laptop - again it doesnt work with skype - and on ekiga i can't select it - everytime i select it keeps defaulting back to the integrated webcam (which doesnt work).

no webcams in linux?

wawacito
February 7th, 2009, 02:17 AM
ok after several days of searching - i finally found a solution by Laurent Pinchart:

http://www.mail-archive.com/linux-uvc-devel@lists.berlios.de/msg03442.html

sudo rmmod uvcvideo
sudo modprobe uvcvideo quirks=16