PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Benefits of an rt kernel

Rog-Mahal
January 31st, 2009, 03:31 AM
I'm just starting out with making some simple electronic music using lmms and hydrogen. I know Ubuntu Studio uses an rt kernel, but I've had some difficulty finding out exactly what kinds of benefits it gives. I'd appreciate some general information just to satisfy my own curiosity. Also, what are people's thoughts on Ubuntu Studio as an all-purpose distro? Are there any pros and cons that I should consider before putting it on as my main distro? Oh, and I'd run 64 bit.

Thanks.

Ng Oon-Ee
January 31st, 2009, 06:15 AM
I'm just starting out with making some simple electronic music using lmms and hydrogen. I know Ubuntu Studio uses an rt kernel, but I've had some difficulty finding out exactly what kinds of benefits it gives. I'd appreciate some general information just to satisfy my own curiosity. Also, what are people's thoughts on Ubuntu Studio as an all-purpose distro? Are there any pros and cons that I should consider before putting it on as my main distro? Oh, and I'd run 64 bit.

Thanks.
RT, simply put, allows you to 'force' low latency, which is especially important if you're going to want to sync a drum track from hydrogen via JACK to everything else. Its ONLY useful for Audio (IMHO), I haven't before noticed any perceptible improvement/degradation in performance for other use.