PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] KDE vs. Gnome, Which is most like Windows?

mmitt
January 28th, 2009, 02:45 AM
Yes I am a Ubuntu noob so I'm sure this is a stupid question. I am running ubuntu 8.10 and like it. However, it is still confusing me, and I'm wondering if KDE or Gnome is easier to complete a transition from Windows with. KDE 4.2 was released and made me wonder, it looks so cool :).

fubbleskag
January 28th, 2009, 02:52 AM
imo, kde is more like windows - or, perhaps better said, is easier to make more like windows.

mmitt
January 28th, 2009, 02:54 AM
imo, kde is more like windows - or, perhaps better said, is easier to make more like windows.
Ok thanks, all I needed to know. Can I change ubuntu straight to KDE or do I need a fresh install?

loell
January 28th, 2009, 02:56 AM
yes you can just install kde alongside Ubuntu (gnome)

sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop

then in the login manager (you can choose Kde or Gnome)

mmitt
January 28th, 2009, 02:58 AM
yes you can just install kde

sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop
Great thanks! Will this uninstall everything that I had on Gnome? nothing important really. But can i uninstall Gnome too?

snova
January 28th, 2009, 02:59 AM
Regarding the thread title, KDE is generally accused of being more like Windows.

But realistically, you can make either desktop look like Windows- I have seen some setups that were virtually indistinguishable.

However, it is still confusing me, and I'm wondering if KDE or Gnome is easier to complete a transition from Windows with.

Hmm, I would actually recommend Gnome.

KDE 4.2 was released and made me wonder, it looks so cool :).

You can try it out yourself easily enough: http://psychocats.net/ubuntu/kde

mmitt
January 28th, 2009, 03:02 AM
Regarding the thread title, KDE is generally accused of being more like Windows.
Because it has more customization right? That is kinda what I'm looking for too.