PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Network Manager 7



TechDragon
January 28th, 2009, 12:19 AM
I want to use Kubuntu 8.04 but need to use Gnomes Network Manager 7.

How do I accomplish this? How do I get Kubuntu to use Gnomes Network mangager 7 in version 8.04


Thanks

XanTrax
January 28th, 2009, 12:37 AM
I want to use Kubuntu 8.04 but need to use Gnomes Network Manager 7.

How do I accomplish this? How do I get Kubuntu to use Gnomes Network mangager 7 in version 8.04


Thanks

First, may I ask why you need to use Gnome's network manager in KDE and not just use KDE's version?

I dont even know if there is a difference, just first would like to know why you want to use Gnomes and not just KDE's

TechDragon
January 28th, 2009, 04:27 AM
yes, you may ask :)

I have a novatel sprint cellular card that works withs gnomes network manager and not KDE's. I even went so far as to install Fedora to see their workaround and their solution was to use the gnome network manager inside of kde.

pHreaksYcle
January 28th, 2009, 04:32 AM
I think it would be a matter of just installing it and setting it to start up on boot, then remove the other program from auto-start.

XanTrax
January 28th, 2009, 05:05 AM
yes, you may ask :)

I have a novatel sprint cellular card that works withs gnomes network manager and not KDE's. I even went so far as to install Fedora to see their workaround and their solution was to use the gnome network manager inside of kde.

Alright. I dont see this not working so lets give it a try.

Running

sudo apt-get remove knetworkmanager

will remove KDE's version of network manager. Then,


sudo apt-get install network-manager network-manager-gnome

will install Gnome's network-manager application.