PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need Help - Ubuntu 8.10/Vista Dual Boot Wireless Issue

phoenixhawke
January 27th, 2009, 11:35 PM
Ok, I'm a complete newb to ubuntu. I have it installed, seems to work fine, recognizes my laptop's wireless card, connects to my home network... everything appears to be great. However, when I booted back into Vista (No comments necessary, I hate vista too), I began to experience wireless issues. Specifically, my wireless card appears to be recognized by vista, it sees my home network, but when I try to connect, it just won't. I get a message stating "Did not receive any response from the network". I did all the normal troubleshooting steps from vista, got fed up and left it for a couple hours, came back, tried to connect again, and it worked.

So I was like, Great! But then I booted into Ubuntu again to play around with it some more, went back to vista to do some work, and once again, no connection. Nothing i could do to bring it up, but then a few hours later I tried again and it worked. The next time I rebooted, I didn't even log into Ubuntu (forgot to tell it to switch to Vista), and I had the same problem. This never happened before i started playing with Ubuntu... help?

I'm typing this up from Vista because I'm afraid to boot back into linux and lose my internet connection again (for the time being, for various reasons, i need to stick with vista as my primary OS).

This is the model of my wireless card:

Realtek RTL8187B Wireless 802.11g 54Mbps USB 2.0 Network Adapter

I can supply any other specs at need. I really want to get this working so i can continue the business of learning about linux

Thanks,
~Brian

mjheagle8
January 27th, 2009, 11:41 PM
does linux detect your wireless card?
please post the output of

lshw -c network

phoenixhawke
January 27th, 2009, 11:50 PM