PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Video cards, backups, and Multi Boot (oh, I'm also a noob)

mvalenti
January 26th, 2009, 10:25 PM
Ok so I have been running Ubuntu 8.1 for about a week. I love it. There were many issues in the beginning mainly my nvidia fx5200 128mb video card. I would use the 177 drivers and the system would act up. Like if I used a pull down, the contents were illegible as well as any windows. So I had to reinstall. I have not enabled the 177 or the 93? drivers for fear of screwing up and reinstalling again. I would like to back up my present install so I can try some of the suggestions here in forums, but my backup (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=35087) steps in this thread gave me errors.. I am unconformable with BASH, trying to learn.. Any suggestions? Once I solve the first 2 I will be creating a drive for multiboot, some windows programs i NEED dont run under wine. But I'm sure there are fixes there too, but I am affraid to do anything until I back my system up.

-Mark

jetway v600dap motherboard
Athlon xp 2400+
1 gig 400ddr ram
fx5200 nvidia 128mb
(2) 40 gb drives
(1) 300 gb drive

candtalan
January 26th, 2009, 11:24 PM
A simple backup app is sbackup (simple backup) although it is not intended to restore a system like windows Restore I believe. Also it is tricky to know if it has finished its activity. In a terminal you can use command:
htop

There may be other apps for you.

It almost sounds as if you are thinking of taking an image of the partition? Once you know what to do - it is easy.....

Ubuntu is generally so easy and quick to install, that a common approach is to backup your data files (the directory /home/user) at least, and use these if you need to re install.

Nowadays I use a completely separate directory ( /data) and ensure that a re install does not touch it.

btw if Wine does not play nice, it might be easier at first to use dual boot maybe, even though it may feel uncomfortable?

btw