PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] NetworkManager Applet after waking from sleep????



rookworm
January 26th, 2009, 07:23 PM
whenever I wake my comp from sleeping, NetworkManager Applet does not pick up any new wireless access points, and moreover, it cannot connect back to the network it was connected to before sleeping....

*** Is there some sort of option that I don't know about that can fix this?

*** Barring that, how do I restart just the NetworkManager Applet without rebooting the whole system?

gn2
January 26th, 2009, 07:44 PM
Do you have a Fn button or a switch to turn wireless back on?

Have you tried Wicd (http://wicd.sourceforge.net/) instead of Network Manager?

rookworm
January 26th, 2009, 08:55 PM
enabling and disabling wireless does nothing.

how do you restart networkmanager?

plucky
January 26th, 2009, 11:04 PM
how do you restart networkmanager?


Try from a terminal
sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart


Good Luck

rookworm
January 26th, 2009, 11:46 PM
thanks... that should suffice for now... hopefully, this will get fixed eventually

rookworm
January 28th, 2009, 12:42 AM
it didn't quite work as planned; when i restart nm, i still get the same list of networks as i had before...... i have to reboot in order to see the new networks.

is there any way i can force it the rescan for networks?

gn2
January 28th, 2009, 01:01 AM
The Wicd application which I mentioned earlier has a "Refresh" button to rescan for new networks. And it works.

rookworm
January 28th, 2009, 05:24 AM
so are you saying this is a problem with network manager??

supposing i didn't want to install a replacement program, what would i do?

gn2
January 28th, 2009, 09:17 PM
so are you saying this is a problem with network manager??

supposing i didn't want to install a replacement program, what would i do?

I have had problems in the past with NetworkManager and have never used it with wireless.

I'm afraid that I have no idea what you would do without installing an alternative.

rookworm
February 6th, 2009, 01:21 PM
I was able to bypass the problem by changing my default keyring password to a blank string. I suspect that there is some sort of bug involved here, but typing in less passwords is certainly more convenient for me.

fraser_m
February 6th, 2009, 01:31 PM
There might also be a problem with your wireless driver. There might be something you need to setup to get it working after a suspend.

rookworm
December 16th, 2009, 06:37 AM
yes, I concur, fraser_m....

The problem seems to be fixed in Karmic however (using the ath5k driver).