PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 8.1: GRUB=no, LILO=yes, Laptop=frozen

stadubu
January 26th, 2009, 09:42 AM
Hi all
I'm new to Linux and Ubuntu. I go straight to the point:
Installed Ubuntu 8.10 in an older laptop from a CD.

Issue 1)
During installation, the GRUB did not install (remember some error that it won't boot etc.). However, after that it did fine: The LILO installed fine, and the machine was booting fine.

Issue 2 and final)
Saw the little arrow on top of the screen, saying something like "there are 435 items for update". so I went for it. After some activity, the screen went black: then no activity, seemed dead. Tried to Restart the machine ...but...tt comes to the Username screen, and then just freezes, it stays there for ever (it won't display input from keyboard, mouse mointer won't move ..its frozen.).

So, guys, whats wrong here? Should I try to re-install everything from scratch? and then, how would I do the updates then? Can I boot before I get to the 'username' screen? and then what?

Thanks
stad-ubu

Info: the laptop is older, 20G HD, totally dedicated to Ubuntu (no dual boot, no fancy stuff)

kestrel1
January 26th, 2009, 10:09 AM
What CPU & RAM do you have?
You may be better off with an older version of Ubuntu or even Xubuntu, as this runs better on older hardware.

halovivek
January 26th, 2009, 02:15 PM
Could you please post the full configuration of your Laptop?
how much hard disk, Ram , video card details?

stadubu
January 26th, 2009, 10:01 PM
Hi again
*laptop is a Toshiba 8100, Pentium III Coppermine (650MHz cpu).
*RAM is small 256, but the little it ran, had no problem
*HD is a Toshiba 20Gb - I think now there is about 15Gbytes left.
*video: sorry can't recall, but I think was running on 1024x768 last time I remember.

-somehow I managed to getoff the gui frozen screen (pressed Alt + > or something), and I managed to login into terminal (console) mode. so I'm logged in, but not GUI.