PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dial-Up Help Needed.

TeeSquare
January 26th, 2009, 01:14 AM
I have a Dell Inspiron 1520 laptop with Windows XP pre-installed, in which I was able to add Ubuntu 8.04.1 for dual booting. I have a dial-up internet account, and with much help from the LinModem website I could configure the internal modem and just about succeeded in connecting to the web.
Now all that has taken me several months because I'm completely new to Linux and have limited time to spare. I first need help in using the dial-up facilities efficiently so that I can shift operations from my rickety old desktop with Windows 98. Later I will need a lot of other help from the Ubuntu and Linux forums. Three priority questions for the present:-
(1.) Does Ubuntu/Linux have an equivalent or alternative for the internet connection icon? I would like to have a pop-up window which displays connection speed and a 'disconnect' button. At present I have to run 'wvdial' command from a terminal screen and ctrl+C to exit, which I hope is not really necessary.
(2.) Is it possible to record my internet usage in some sort of log file to show connection speed, time and bytes sent/recd for each session?
(3.) How can I view the web pages offline (like temporary internet files are stored in Windows)? With dial-up I have to disconnect fast.
Please let me have some detailed advice on the above points, especially command line requirements like sudo, root, etc, as I don't understand most of it.
I hope to do all my internet access through Ubuntu and Firefox as I understand the virus risks are much less than with Windows.
It may take me two or three days to acknowledge any responses, so please bear with me.
Thanks, =TeeSquare=

utnubuuser
January 26th, 2009, 07:33 AM
There is a usage log program, I've heard about it though I can't recall what it is.-Mostly meant for cellular I believe.