PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] enabling 3D effects

Tmoney1309
January 25th, 2009, 07:49 PM
I'm brand new to Ubuntu, I have Ubuntu 8.04. I was wondering how to enable the 3D desktop feature(Linux Cube).

SunnyRabbiera
January 25th, 2009, 08:00 PM
Well step 1 is to learn how to install packages, so we can help faster.
The application you need is called compizconfig-settings-manager, now there are a few ways to do this but because you are fresh may i direct you here:
http://packages.ubuntu.com/

its a place to downlaod ubuntu's main packages, just type in what i said above and select the version you are using from the pulldown labeled distribution.
it should be easy from there on in, its similar to download.com

MikeBrown
January 25th, 2009, 08:02 PM
Hi and welcome, Have you looked at the FAQ's here The Great Desktop Effects FAQ of 2009 (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=809695)
Also your graphics card may need drivers. :)

Quoted from this thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1050197

pi.boy.travis
January 25th, 2009, 08:05 PM
Well step 1 is to learn how to install packages, so we can help faster.
The application you need is called compizconfig-settings-manager, now there are a few ways to do this but because you are fresh may i direct you here:
http://packages.ubuntu.com/

its a place to downlaod ubuntu's main packages, just type in what i said above and select the version you are using from the pulldown labeled distribution.
it should be easy from there on in, its similar to download.com

You could also use synaptic package manager, a program that allows you to add or remove new packages. You can find it in System>Administration>Synaptic Package Manager.

Once you have the settings manager installed, you can configure the effects by going to System>Preferences>CompizConfig Settings Manager.

Hope this helps!

Stalker72
January 25th, 2009, 08:08 PM
System -> Administration -> Hardware Drivers. Activate the driver, then restart your PC.