PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dissapointed so far!

russppt
January 25th, 2009, 07:38 PM
Hi all

I thought I would give Unbuntu a go after a friend raved on about it before I bought a Mac.
Had no problem with the installation and I really like Ubuntu but so far in the first 24 hours the PC has frozen five times so I have to turn off and turn on again. Also, I loaded up a DVD for my daughter and it wont go past the first chapter menu. I never even had these issues with windows!
I don't want to give up at this early stage on Unbuntu, someone please inspire me?:(

Thanks.

Russell

mmitt
January 25th, 2009, 07:42 PM
Im not a Linux expert, AT ALL, but you should try installing proprietary drivers under Applications > Add/Remove. As for crashes, I have no clue.

Stalker72
January 25th, 2009, 07:46 PM
Have you tried to run Update Manager?

Stalker72

SunnyRabbiera
January 25th, 2009, 07:47 PM
Well firstly you can tell us the version you are trying out, secondly that DVD issue is probably there because ubuntu doesnt ship DVD codecs by default and the gstreamer plugins can only do so much but lets get to that later.
Anyhow what version are you using now?

philinux
January 25th, 2009, 07:47 PM
For DVD's and codecs etc, click the medibuntu link below and . Also install vlc player for dvd's from add/remove or synaptic.

Also install ubuntu-restricted-extras.

Stalker72
January 25th, 2009, 07:50 PM
Also install ubuntu-restricted-extras.

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras

Stalker72

neotasic1
January 25th, 2009, 07:51 PM
Hi all

I thought I would give Unbuntu a go after a friend raved on about it before I bought a Mac.
Had no problem with the installation and I really like Ubuntu but so far in the first 24 hours the PC has frozen five times so I have to turn off and turn on again. Also, I loaded up a DVD for my daughter and it wont go past the first chapter menu. I never even had these issues with windows!