PDA

View Full Version : Handbrake 64 bit is slow. Can I make it faster?



yt_l9
January 22nd, 2009, 10:08 PM
I'm not entirely sure this is the right forum for this but...
I've noticed that while using Handbrake to encode video files my cpu is only at 50%-70% capacity. Is there any way for me to get it to take full advantage of my computer? I've seen that under Windows (7 in particular) it is maximising the cpu's ability at around 98%. I get an avg fps of 27 or so on the second run. I've been told people have gotten 120 fps on windows 7 for the second run. I'd rather not resort to dual booting just for encoding.

I'm also ripping the .iso to my HDD before running it through handbrake.

My system:
Q9550 @3Ghz
P45 NB/ICH10R SB
8 Gb DDR2 800
7200 rpm 750 Gb HDD

Thanks in advance

yt_l9
January 23rd, 2009, 02:52 PM
Anybody?

Has anybody tried ripping/encoding in a virtual windows machine? I'd assume the performance would be worse but I've been wrong before.

I'll try it tonight and post results, maybe tomorrow when it finishes.

jhayes
February 11th, 2009, 03:09 AM
when i used it under windox xp,
if i left the defaults, the videeo codec whas h.246 something,
and letting that run, 2 pass, would be over an hour.

however the first thing i would normally do is change it to ffmpeg,
then the rips would take about 15 min.

look to see what codec you are using.
not sure why h.246 would't use full cpu tho sorry.