PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubuntu slower than windows xp??

elliottj85
January 21st, 2009, 06:49 AM
Hi,
I've been messing around with ubuntu for a couple of months now and theres still a couple of things I can't get to work.

My main problem is that programs that ran smoothly such as google earth, under windows, are now very slow and sluggish.

I'm using an old sony vaio pcg-fx602
ubuntu intrepid
the graphics card is an ati rage mobilty with 8mb

direct rendering is enabled but im only getting 200-300 fps in glxgears, someone with a similar card was up to about a thousand I believe.

could someone give me some very simple instructions to get my 3d abilities up to speed.

thank you!!!

chinakr
January 24th, 2009, 07:20 AM
It must be a 3D driver's related problem.
Just wait for the new version of the 3D driver.

fland
January 24th, 2009, 08:47 AM
It must be a 3D driver's related problem.
Just wait for the new version of the 3D driver.
new driver for such old video? Good joke. About what is slower - ubuntu or XP I can say just that Ubuntu needs more RAM for running same number or programs at the same time then XP, but under Ubuntu we get more aesthetically pleasing set of effects and stable working.

jmate24
January 24th, 2009, 09:29 AM
shut of tracker and indexing. and the rest of the apps so that ubuntu can load faster and use less CPU and memory. But if you intend on using one of these apps then do not uncheck the box.

system>preferences>search and indexing, uncheck 'enable indexing' and 'enable watching' and check 'disable all indexing on battery' and 'disable initial index sweep while on battery'

then go to: