PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Nvidia GeForce Go 7150M

gordanr
January 21st, 2009, 12:56 AM
Please can anyone help me.

I am new to Ubuntu and Linux, I have installed Ubuntu latest version on my Laptop. It's fine, but have trouble with my graphic card. I don't know where to find this driver or how to install it at all. I am using:

HP dv2000 AMD Turion64 x2 processor, 3 GB RAM, 250 Gb HDD, and the problem is with : Nvidia GeForce Go 7150M driver..

Please help.
Thank you All.

taurus
January 21st, 2009, 12:58 AM
Look in System -> Administration -> Hardware Drivers to see if your graphic card is on the list and whether there is a driver (recommended) for it.

gordanr
January 21st, 2009, 01:06 AM
I have checked, and this is what tells me: NVIDIA Accelerated graphic driver (version 173)

Now I click button Activate, and nothing happens.

What to do??

taurus
January 21st, 2009, 01:09 AM
It doesn't download and install nvidia driver for your card? Do you see an icon on the upper right corner (blue arrows) asking you to reboot?

Tim Drallmeier
January 29th, 2009, 06:10 PM
I have the same problem with my laptop, it has the same card, I recently installed 8.1 on it and now the only resolution i can get is 800x600. My laptop is a DV2845SE, and for the plugins, only one works, for the wireless network, there are two plugins for the Nvidia card, and neither works, it loads for a while, and then quits, and does not enable the driver... I have the option to install NVIDIA advanced graphics driver 173, or 177, and 177 is the recommended... when i go to activate driver, it says downloading and installing driver, shows 0% and does nothing

warlog
February 10th, 2009, 10:10 AM
I have compaq v6608au laptop with same graphic card. I know how to install the driver. First get it from http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/180.22/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-180.22-pkg1.run.