PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] export windows desktop to ubuntu x server

linezfanatix
January 20th, 2009, 05:53 PM
Hi,

I am relatively new to the Ubuntu family. I dont if this question has been asked earlier or not. What I really want to do is run some program in my windows xp machine (some kind of x-server or client) and export my windows desktop to my ubuntu x server.

There are couple of questions here.
first and fore most is there any such program for windows xp to export the display. I know for sure there are windows based x server which can be used to export display from *nix based system.
If there is such a program what additional stuff would i be needing to configure the X server running on my ubuntu box to be able to capture my windows xp screen.

Any help with be highly appreciated.
~ Amit

oaqster
January 20th, 2009, 09:06 PM
not sure if i fully understand what you mean by "exporting" your xp desktop/display. if what your trying to do is control your xp machine from the ubuntu one, there are a couple of solutions.

if you have XP Pro it would come with something called Remote Desktop, right click on My Computer -> Properties -> Remote and enable Remote Desktop. there are quite a few packages will let you connect to a windows RD, i personally like gnome-rdp, cuz it lets me add vnc & rd connections in the same application, to install run this

sudo apt-get install gnome-rdp

and launch Applications -> Internet -> Gnome-RDP, provide your connection information and you should be good to go.

if you have XP Home then you could try installing a VNS server on the xp machine and connect from ubuntu using a VNC client

hope this is what you were looking for
- oaqster

ugm6hr
January 20th, 2009, 10:06 PM
I know for sure there are windows based x server which can be used to export display from *nix based system.

This terminology is unclear. As oaqster says - you may be talking about remote desktop software.