PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Duplicate mp3 remover

stevena0
January 20th, 2009, 01:16 PM
Hi,

I've been using Ubuntu for a few years, but I've only just signed up to the forums. So hi, and thanks for the forums - they've been a godsend.

I was wondering if anybody knew if someone has written a script to remove duplicate mp3 files from a music library. I copied my music from a few friends and now I have lots of duplicates which is kind of annoying if I want to play an album.

I was thinking of writing a little script to do this for me, but I thought I'd check to see if anyone else has written one first. If not, I'll get cracking and post it back here.

On a similar note, does anyone know if I can make Rhythmbox ignore duplicate songs?

Thanks.

stevena0
January 20th, 2009, 03:04 PM
In case anybody is interested - I wrote a very crude script myself. Here it is:

#!/usr/bin/env python

from ID3 import *
import os, glob, sys

def debug(msg):
if len(sys.argv) == 2:
print msg

def rm_print(msg):
try:
if sys.argv[2] == "-rm":
print msg
except IndexError:
pass

def run():
songalbums = []
songalbumspaths = []
songartists = []
songartistspaths = []
if len(sys.argv) < 2:
usage()

debug("Looking for duplicates...")

for (dirpath,dirnames,filenames) in os.walk(sys.argv[1]):
for file in filenames:
if file.split(".")[-1].lower() == "mp3":
id3info = ID3("%s/%s" %(dirpath,file))
if id3info.artist.strip() == "" or id3info.album.strip() == "" or id3info.title.strip() == "":
debug("Ignoring %s | %s - %s - %s" % ("%s/%s" %(dirpath,file),id3info.artist,id3info.title,id3in fo.album))
continue
if id3info.artist.lower().strip() == "unknown" or id3info.album.lower().strip() == "unkown" or id3info.title.lower().strip() == "unkown":
debug("Ignoring %s | %s - %s - %s" % ("%s/%s" %(dirpath,file),id3info.artist,id3info.title,id3in fo.album))
if (id3info.title,id3info.album) in songalbums:
debug("Duplicate song/album")