PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] choppy video and audio in ubuntu

ksheyman
January 20th, 2009, 06:55 AM
Hello, I am extremely new to linux so please be gentle. I just switched my laptop over to ubuntu and I'm having trouble with video and audio playback. When playing videos it actually plays in slow-motion, super choppy and unwatchable. It's the same no matter what size I play the video. The audio is the same way, even the startup sound is choppy. I am using the correct drivers for the video card, I made sure of that. This was not a problem with windows although the video card does really really suck. Any ideas? Please give me step-by-step for any suggestions because I guarantee I won't know what you're talking about!! Thanks!!!!!!

overdrank
January 20th, 2009, 07:03 AM
Hello, I am extremely new to linux so please be gentle. I just switched my laptop over to ubuntu and I'm having trouble with video and audio playback. When playing videos it actually plays in slow-motion, super choppy and unwatchable. It's the same no matter what size I play the video. The audio is the same way, even the startup sound is choppy. I am using the correct drivers for the video card, I made sure of that. This was not a problem with windows although the video card does really really suck. Any ideas? Please give me step-by-step for any suggestions because I guarantee I won't know what you're talking about!! Thanks!!!!!!

Hi and welcome, some info that may help us.
What is the model of the graphics card, and some system specs.
The version of ubuntu you are using and have you installed the restricted formats (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RestrictedFormats)

ksheyman
January 20th, 2009, 09:55 PM