PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Seagate Harddrive issues



Messyhair42
January 19th, 2009, 07:11 AM
after reading this article http://www.computerworld.com/action/article.do?command=viewArticleBasic&taxonomyName=storage&articleId=9126280&taxonomyId=19&intsrc=kc_top i checked my model numbers and my big drive (where most of my media is) is one of the affected models. so i go through the seagate website http://seagate.custkb.com/seagate/crm/selfservice/search.jsp?DocId=207951 and get the drive detector. it's an executable and it runs in wine, but none of the drives show up, i look at the program info and it checks drives that have been connected to the registry, so i think, great, my harddrive company produces fixes for windows customers only. anybody else run into this? got a way around it? do i go ahead and just get the .iso and update?

theozzlives
January 19th, 2009, 07:13 AM
Is itt just firmware? Is the ISO bootable?

Messyhair42
January 19th, 2009, 07:18 AM
website instructions say to boot to the burned disk, yes.

logos34
January 19th, 2009, 07:22 AM
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11

ST3500320AS
ST3640330AS
ST3750330AS
ST31000340AS

SD15, SD16, SD17, SD18, SD19, AD14

SD1A

...

If your drive has one of the following firmware revisions: SD15, SD16, SD17, SD18, SD19, or AD14, click here to download the SD1A update.

...

If your drive matches one of the models listed in this article and does not match any of these versions of firmware, your drive is not affected.

run

sudo lshw -C disk

it'll show the firmware version, like mine:


*-disk
description: ATA Disk
product: Maxtor 6L120P0
vendor: Maxtor
physical id: 0
bus info: scsi@0:0.0.0
logical name: /dev/sda
version: BAJ4 <--Firmware Revision #
serial: L31TK1LG
size: 114GiB (122GB)
capabilities: partitioned partitioned:dos
configuration: ansiversion=5 signature=a9bfd07a
*-cdrom
description: DVD writer
product: DRW-1608P2
vendor: ASUS
physical id: 1
bus info: scsi@1:0.0.0
logical name: /dev/cdrom
logical name: /dev/cdrom1
logical name: /dev/dvd
logical name: /dev/dvd1
logical name: /dev/scd0
logical name: /dev/sr0
version: 1.41 <--Firmware Revision #
capabilities: removable audio cd-r cd-rw dvd dvd-r
configuration: ansiversion=5 status=open

Messyhair42
January 19th, 2009, 07:49 AM
i switched over to windows to fix this problem. i burned the iso and booted to it, and it tells me the specific drive could not be recognized, still looking for troubleshooting from seagate. I have FW V#SD15 btw

Messyhair42
January 19th, 2009, 08:30 PM
i've checked the drive type and FW ver. but when i try to update from the cd it kicks me out. i've followed the steps to the T. i built the computer myself so i knew what i had put in it. and the HD shipped from tigerdirect on 3 Dec. they said it affected drives manufactured in december 08 so i'm pretty sure it's not affected i just wanted to try.

Messyhair42
January 19th, 2009, 08:56 PM
i tried the update once more. i had to unhook my 2nd HD (dedicated to ubuntu) as per the instructions. after i couldn't do anything i hooked everything back up and booted into ubuntu and now i can't mount the HD i was trying to update the firmware on. it appears in /media/ but says i don't have permission to access it and my /ect/fstab file is empty. i was using NTFS config before so it would mount automatically. what did i do and how do i fix this problem.

xmastree
January 20th, 2009, 08:58 PM
my harddrive company produces fixes for windows customers only. anybody else run into this? got a way around it? do i go ahead and just get the .iso and update?

Boot from the disc you downloaded and you can run the identify tool from there.

However, mine didn't quite work...

The program identified the drive:
http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f341/chrispollard/seagate/th_seagate1.jpg (http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f341/chrispollard/seagate/seagate1.jpg)

I selected option 'D':
http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f341/chrispollard/seagate/th_seagate2.jpg (http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f341/chrispollard/seagate/seagate2.jpg)

But then:
http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f341/chrispollard/seagate/th_seagate3.jpg (http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f341/chrispollard/seagate/seagate3.jpg)
'Specific model not found, ST3500320AS expected'

:(

Messyhair42
January 20th, 2009, 11:22 PM
I'm getting the exact same thing xmastree. either we have the same problem or seagate messed up again. i saw they removed the firmware update today to be 'validated' so maybe it's a temporary thing.

xmastree
January 21st, 2009, 08:06 AM
More about it here:

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/seagate-500gb-1tb-firmware-update,news-30071.html


Incidentally, after trying that and failing, my drive still works fine.

I'm still worried about it though...
http://bestsmileys.com/paranoid/4.gif

Messyhair42
January 21st, 2009, 08:12 AM
same same

i checked out the article. i have a 1TB drive but the update won't work, nothing to do but wait i guess.

electrogeist
January 21st, 2009, 09:47 PM
Slashdot has had several stories recently regarding Seagate issues. The latest one is regarding the 500GB 3500320AS models being bricked by flashing the updated firmware:

http://it.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=09/01/21/0052236

A rep from Seagate going under the name maxtorman made a number of interesting posts, detailing internal policy/politics and much technical discussion.

It is worth a read if you have a recent Seagate drive or are curious.

RJARRRPCGP
January 21st, 2009, 10:52 PM
Looks like it's not being found, because the program crashed.

Thus, another component complains about the model not being found.

xmastree
January 22nd, 2009, 07:15 PM
It seems they fixed it.

http://forums.seagate.com/stx/board/message?board.id=ata_drives&message.id=6584#M6584


Looks like it's not being found, because the program crashed.
If that's the case then I had a lucky escape. Most users on that forum experienced bricked drives when they applied the upgrade.

Messyhair42
January 22nd, 2009, 07:39 PM
thx for the update. i'll try this on mine as soon as i boot into windows.

xmastree
January 22nd, 2009, 08:35 PM
thx for the update. i'll try this on mine as soon as i boot into windows.

Windows? why?

You just d/l the ISO, burn the CD, shutdown, disconnect any other HDD's, boot into FreeDOS from the CD and run the update.

Messyhair42
January 22nd, 2009, 10:01 PM
i know i could have done it through ubuntu, except the drive that ubuntu is on doesn't need to be updated. it was a success anyway.

Messyhair42
January 23rd, 2009, 08:03 AM
the tool is disabled as of this moment but my problem is solved as well as most other people having this problem i think with seagate's new FW release