PDA

View Full Version : Hauppauge HVR 1600 remote control?

Ioky
January 19th, 2009, 05:30 AM
I just got a Hauppauge HVR 1600 model 1199. It seem working well? (doesn't use it long enough to say how well it actually is.)

However, My problem is the remote Control come with the Card, it doesn't seem working at all. I just wonder how can I make it work.

I have no knowledge on IR remote under Linux, so.

Thanks.

uMuppet
January 19th, 2009, 11:11 AM
What does the remote look like? Can you post a pic somewhere?

Ioky
January 20th, 2009, 09:06 AM
http://lirc.sourceforge.net/remotes/hauppauge/PVR-350.jpg

I try to use mode2, it say "error oepn" /dev/lirc, no such file or directory.

any idea?

Thanks

sniperbob
January 30th, 2009, 08:16 AM
Last I searched around, the driver for the card supports all the video functions, but the infared port on the card is not supported yet.

I wasted an evening or two trying to force drivers to work for it with lirc, ended up giving up and just ordering a serial port IR receiver, hope to get it in the mail shortly. Generic serial IR units are much better supported.

psuprogrammer
February 2nd, 2009, 03:37 AM
ended up giving up and just ordering a serial port IR receiver, hope to get it in the mail shortly. Generic serial IR units are much better supported.

Can you post a few links to well supported serial IR units?
I'm looking for something easy to setup.

I've been working on this 1600 remote for several hours today and am lost.

sniperbob
February 12th, 2009, 05:13 AM
If you search for "mythtv blaster" or something of the sort, you can come across several commercial offerings.

I would point you in a more specific direction - but I didnt end up buying one, I ordered parts and am making my own - so I don't know any more than you.

appsmanster
March 17th, 2009, 09:28 PM