PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ATI Driver Problem

rhcodey
January 19th, 2009, 04:22 AM
I'm a complete newbie who just installed Ubuntu 8.10. My graphics card driver is ATI radeon Mobility MLP 6Y, I believe. When I install Ubuntu the screen resolution is fine and the graphics are fine as well. But then when I try to install the ATI Control Catalyst (in the hopes of being able to use Compiz-Fusion to create 3D effects and AVN for a dock), I get a low graphics message and my screen resolution goes from 1400 to 800X600.

I've checked the hardware drivers and nothing lists there. My question is how can I get my graphics back to the point at which they were before. I've done research on the issue and attempted several fixes I've found on Ubuntu forums (running aticonfig, etc.), but nothing works. Any assistance you could provide would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

mobasher_helmy
January 25th, 2009, 03:42 PM
Hi,
Well, i donno if my solution would be of much help to you or not, since i have ubuntu 8.04. and i have ati x1400 mobility radeon grafix card.

I had the same problem of resolution and direct rendering switched off (simply, driver is not functioning). And i did the following:

1- download the driver file from ati.amd.com (select the appropriate model from the selection list)

2- the file is probably a shell script (*.sh) so you have make it executable. chmod +x ati_driver_filename.sh

3- uninstall other graphics drivers that ubuntu installs by default for your convinience. Theses include the following packages:
xserver-xgl (probably used for the fancy desktop effects)
xserver-xorg-video-ati
xserver-xorg-video-all

if you don't know how to remove them, u can either use the synaptic package manager (GUI) or use the command line apt-get remove <package_name> as super user of course

4- reboot your machine