PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wifi not working in Intrepid as it did in Cambridge

inspriation26
January 19th, 2009, 02:59 AM
Hello everyone,

I'm not a linux newbie but I do need some help. As you can tell based on the subject I switched from Fedora 10 to Ubuntu 8.10 because I ran Ubuntu on a virtual machine and fell in love with the ease of use over Fedora. I just came across one problem as I switched over: It has a driver for my wireless card but it refuses to work. The computer I'm currently useing is a Sony Vaio NR330E with a Atheros 802.11 PCI Express card. The network manager never even showed wireless networking as an option and I can't seem to get find the network manager from the system menu. All it has is network tools, frustrating me further. I do have to use Windows sometimes to play the Sims 2 and my wireless works there. Also on a side note, my wireless network comes off of my other computer through a netgear wireless router off of my ethernet connection from Windstream. I don't want to have to convert back to Fedora, not that it wasnt a great os. I just dont want to have to convert to being a windows only user again because of vista. When I run lshw -C network it says its disabled but it says the driver is on. and if i do iwconfig it says there is no wireless.
Please tell me how I may fix this problem? I need it soon because I'm a student and I need the internet for school purposes. I'd apreciate any help at all.

Thank you

darksideforge
January 19th, 2009, 03:39 PM