PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Skype and Webcam

allegrosails
January 18th, 2009, 09:51 PM
Hi, I am new to Linux and Ubuntu. I want to get Skype up and running then move to ekiga. (My family is mostly on Skype).
I went to the Skype download site and downloaded the Ubuntu 7.04-8.04 package. But when I get "Error wrong archecture" when I try to install. It's not clear to me which other package I should download. My processor is:
Core 2 Duo E7300 2.66 GHz FSB 1066 MHz L2 3 MB

Suggestions?

Also: I purchased a Logitech QuickCam Communicate MP (S 5500) webcam. It comes with only Microsoft software. Where do I find drivers for it: Logitech site or elsewhere?

Thanks

drewbenn
January 18th, 2009, 10:17 PM
Sounds like maybe you are using 64-bit Linux but you downloaded the 32-bit version? If a "uname -m" in the terminal returns "x86_64," that might be the case. There is a 64-bit package under the "AMD64" section at https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Skype, give that a shot.
I don't have a webcam nor have I actually used Skype, so I can't provide any help past that suggestion ;)

thomasaaron
January 19th, 2009, 03:53 AM
If you're using a System76 computer, follow these directions...
http://knowledge76.com/index.php/Installing_Restricted_Formats

perce
January 19th, 2009, 01:35 PM
Also: I purchased a Logitech QuickCam Communicate MP (S 5500) webcam. It comes with only Microsoft software. Where do I find drivers for it: Logitech site or elsewhere?

Thanks

Plug it in: either it works, or it doesn't. If it doesn't the best strategy is often to wait 6 months for the next version of Ubuntu. Supported hardware in Linux is often plug-and-play even if in Windows isn't.
(This is true only in first approximation: if you're expert, you can sometimes do some black magic and make a little more hardware to work)

allegrosails
January 19th, 2009, 05:10 PM
Thanks for the reply, Tom.