PDA

View Full Version : mythbuntu frontend to older backend

djb61230
January 9th, 2009, 02:37 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm a mythtv veteran (knoppmyth) but am thinking of trying mythbuntu. I'm adding a new frontend to my system but unfortunately the older kernel with my 2-year old knoppmyth doesn't properly run the ethernet on the motherboard. (I run diskless frontends in our home).

I've booted a 8.10 Ubuntu live CD and of course no ethernet problems. So I was wondering if mythbuntu could be installed on this new frontend (I'll add a drive instead of booting over the network) and be able to talk to my current backend.

Of course my backend is old, as it's .20-fixes. Any possibility a version of mythbuntu can talk to it?

It's really just a short term fix as I will be building a new backend in the near future. I really wanted to wait until .22 was released so I could get a stable HD-PVR system going. But also am interested in playing with mythbuntu, so doing this quick fix would get my feet wet with mythbuntu.

TIA.

Doug

newlinux
January 9th, 2009, 04:00 AM
I think there's a protocol change and I'm sure there's a difference in DB schemas between .20 and .21, which is what 8.10 will run. So I don't think it will work very well. In fact if you put a .21 frontend on your system and connect it to your .20, it will try and update the DB schema and screw up your .20 system (this happened to me, and I wasn't even trying to connect it to my old .20 backend - it found it and tried to update it on its own).

klc5555
January 9th, 2009, 04:08 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm a mythtv veteran (knoppmyth) but am thinking of trying mythbuntu. I'm adding a new frontend to my system but unfortunately the older kernel with my 2-year old knoppmyth doesn't properly run the ethernet on the motherboard. (I run diskless frontends in our home).