PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] how to maximize window

mhinkle
January 5th, 2009, 08:56 PM
Hello, this is my very first attempt at Linux. I'm using Sun's Virtual Box on a Windows XP box to run Ubuntu 8.04.
My (stupid) question is: why do I only get a tiny window in the center of the monitor with black all around? Is this due to the Virtual Box or Linux itself??

xaco1234
January 5th, 2009, 08:58 PM
virtualbox i belive, might be some monitor settings that's wrong with linux also. but i belive it's the first

amauk
January 5th, 2009, 09:03 PM
because your using the generic drivers for the virtualbox emulated hardware

You need to install the drivers
These are provided with Virtualbox, and are called the "Guest additions"

with Ubuntu booted in Virtualbox, click
Devices > Install guest additions

You should see a CD ROM being mounted in Ubuntu (CD icon on the desktop)

Now, open up a terminal,
Applications > Accessories > terminal
type in "sudo nautilus"

This will open up a root session on nautilus
(the file browser)

Navigate to the CD, and double click on the appropriate Linux .run file
(x86 if your running 32bit windows, amd64 if running 64bit windows)

When asked, say "run in terminal"

you will need to reboot the virtual machine

mhinkle
January 6th, 2009, 12:08 AM
Amauk,

I appreciate your quick and detailed response, however I'm having trouble finding "Devices" in VirtualBox. I have 3 items in the standard menu: File, Machine, & Help. I also have 3 tabs in the right-hand frame: Details, Snapshots, & Description. I have also looked under the Settings icon, but still do not find Devices.

In regards to the other instructions, I can find the terminal window in Ubuntu but when I type "sudo nautilus" I get a windows looking 'explorer' window with only one folder and no CD.

HELP! What am I doing wrong?:confused:

amauk
January 6th, 2009, 12:15 AM
It's on the VM window, not the Virtualbox GUI window

press right-ctrl + F
(to unmaximize the VM)

mhinkle