PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] problem with dsl and network connections by networkmanager 0.7.0



saygin
January 5th, 2009, 07:03 PM
I've been using ubuntu since edgy. Until Intrepid, I used to configure my pppoe settings with pppoeconf tool in terminal. After that, it used to connect to the internet automatically after boot and networking was working with samba. However, in Intrepid, I wanted to use networkmanager applet to handle my pppoe internet and network configurations. I added a DSL connection for internet and It self-created a network connection named "Ifupdown (eth0)". DLS connection can access to the internet when selected but can't access to (also can't see) any computers on network. On the other hand, Ifupdown can see and access to computers on network, it can't connect to the internet. I want to enable them both at the same time but they are made as radio buttons in the applet. Is there a way to enable them both or making a connection which supports both network and pppoe connections? waiting for your help...

saygin
January 7th, 2009, 04:19 PM
nobody?

superprash2003
January 7th, 2009, 05:03 PM
post output of ifconfig from the terminal

saygin
January 8th, 2009, 02:20 AM
this is with ifupdown (which network works)

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:ec:3e:47:35
inet addr:192.168.4.114 Bcast:192.168.7.255 Mask:255.255.248.0
inet6 addr: fec0::8:21e:ecff:fe3e:4735/64 Scope:Site
inet6 addr: 2002:d4ae:fb7d:8:21e:ecff:fe3e:4735/64 Scope:Global
inet6 addr: fe80::21e:ecff:fe3e:4735/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1799 errors:0 dropped:7270134114 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:64 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:162839 (162.8 KB) TX bytes:10850 (10.8 KB)
Interrupt:249 Base address:0x4000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:22:68:93:30:df
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-22-68-93-30-DF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

and this is DSL which internet works but network doesn't


eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:ec:3e:47:35
inet6 addr: fec0::8:21e:ecff:fe3e:4735/64 Scope:Site
inet6 addr: 2002:d4ae:fb7d:8:21e:ecff:fe3e:4735/64 Scope:Global
inet6 addr: fe80::21e:ecff:fe3e:4735/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:4032 errors:0 dropped:16919199085 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:106 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:380016 (380.0 KB) TX bytes:17580 (17.5 KB)
Interrupt:249 Base address:0x4000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
inet addr:88.255.192.186 P-t-P:88.255.192.3 Mask:255.255.255.255
UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1488 Metric:1
RX packets:9 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:9 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
RX bytes:522 (522.0 B) TX bytes:478 (478.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:22:68:93:30:df
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-22-68-93-30-DF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

superprash2003
January 8th, 2009, 04:40 PM
which ubuntu version are you using?? try giving eth0 a static ip.. and then connect ppp0 and then try internet and network access

saygin
January 20th, 2009, 02:01 PM
I'm using ubuntu 8.10. By the way I can't give eth0 a static IP because the network I use gives everybody different IP's everytime. Therefore, If I do, there may be conflicts.

japsai
March 3rd, 2009, 04:17 PM
Are you able to edit the ifupdown (eth*) connection? If not, you can let NetworkManager manage it by disabling the connection entry in /etc/network/interfaces created by pppoeconf; it should end with something like:
iface eth* inet dhcp Put a # (comment) mark before this line. Then restart and NetworkManager won't have this "ifupdown (eth*)" connection anymore. (Which may be interfering with your DSL connection as configured by NM)

I hope this is clear otherwise I can post more.