PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Vodafone mobile connect with 8.10

jaimez30
January 5th, 2009, 06:36 PM
Hello,

I have been pottering with Ubuntu for a few months so am no expert but would like to ditch windows soon. I have a ongoing niggle with this however. I am not on broadband as I live in an area of Italy without coverage. My solution is the vodafone mobile connect card. I have had this working with Betavine drivers before but it stopped working when 8.10 came out.
I would like to get the VMC card working with the native 8.10 network manager and wondered if anyone had managed this?
It is detected and asks for configuration, which I do, but on completion of the setup the connection attempt just says : the card has been disconnected....almost immediately. Any guidance anyone?

LuigiAntoniol
March 30th, 2009, 07:50 AM
There is a new Betavine VMC, but it requires a new app called usb-modeswitch.

The VMC won't even begin to install without this being installed first.

I have just this weekend done what you're asking and below is what I did.

Procedure:
Connect PC to a permanent internet connection (ADSL, T1, whatever you have in Italy), or a shared wireless connection at a friends house.
Make sure that your 3G modem is plugged into the PC.
Download and install the USB-modeswitch app from Betavine.
Download and install the VMC from Betavine.
Allow the VMC app to invoke the Synaptic package Manager to resolve dependancies.
[I was sorted out in less than 10 minutes]
Unplug the PC from the permanent connection.
Start the VMC.
Set it up for Italy (it will give you the various networks).
Select the one you want and simply connect.

Just a word of warning:
Firefox and Evolution Mail do not automatically detect this connection.
In either program, click on "File", then move down to "Work Offline" and uncheck it.

You will have to do this every time you want to go onto the internet or send and receive emails.

Good luck.

jaimez30
March 30th, 2009, 09:46 AM