PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Aircrack on ubuntu help?



batfink1
January 4th, 2009, 12:02 AM
ive installed aircrack suite with no problem, i put my card in monitor mode no problem useing airmon and when i type airodump-ng eth1 i get the following error:


root@laptop-blud:/home/elliot# airodump-ng eth1
ioctl(SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Invalid argument

ARP linktype is set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211,
ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead. Make
sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start eth1 <#>'
Sysfs injection support was not found either.


and i know my card is compatable because aircrack works with with bt3

im also using the same wireless card to access the internet so i know that the drivers are working


eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1c:23:a6:64:45
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:17

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1d:d9:36:97:43
inet addr:192.168.0.2 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21d:d9ff:fe36:9743/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:78519 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:18705
TX packets:69113 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:100050778 (100.0 MB) TX bytes:7465383 (7.4 MB)
Interrupt:17 Base address:0xc000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0


all help is appreciated

ubuntu 8.10 and dell inspiron 1520

2hot6ft2
January 4th, 2009, 12:05 AM
ARP linktype is set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211,
ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead. Make
sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start eth1 <#>'
Sysfs injection support was not found either.
Did you do what it says to do?

batfink1
January 4th, 2009, 12:12 AM
Did you do what it says to do?

yeah, dunno why it isnt working though

stderr
January 4th, 2009, 01:12 AM
It can take a lot of trial and error to successfully use aircrack. A lot of it depends on which wireless chipset you have too - there are a few excellent ones that are always recommended. I would advise you check your chipset against aircrack's lists to see how compatible (or not) it is. Common advice is to buy one of the better ones first.

I really struggled to get my Broadcom BCM4401-B0 working (driver iwl3945). In the end, whilst I had small successes, I figured it would be a better use of my time to buy a better wireless NIC.

I would advise reading through http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=528276 and also the official documentation.

Have you successfully changed channels yet?

tednumber8
January 4th, 2009, 01:14 AM
Is it possible to GUI aircrack-ng?

stderr
January 4th, 2009, 01:19 AM
Just gave my setup another go... after running


sudo airmon-ng start wlan0

I got my monitor interface (mon0) back again:


ace@ace5:~$ ifconfig
mon0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-13-02-D3-FD-A1-30-30-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING PROMISC ALLMULTI MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:12867 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2039740 (2.0 MB) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:02:d3:fd:a1
inet addr:192.168.1.115 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::213:2ff:fed3:fda1/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:4619302 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:3211691 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2323981992 (2.3 GB) TX bytes:309827168 (309.8 MB)
[... etc ...]


wlan0 is my actual wireless interface
mon0 is the promiscuous interface created (by the aircrack-ng start command)

Then running


sudo airodump-ng mon0

pulls everything up correctly. You're trying to do this with eth1, which is not correctly set to promiscuous mode or anything else - which is why you're getting "expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211, ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM". You need to check the documentation and get the first step working - getting your ADDITIONAL monitor interface, much like my mon0.

edit: to do useful things you'll probably have to change channels too. I just recommend properly reading the documentation at http://www.aircrack-ng.org/doku.php

stderr
January 4th, 2009, 01:21 AM
Is it possible to GUI aircrack-ng?

I don't think there is a GUI for it.