PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Question How to batch rename file extensions..

trooperchix
January 3rd, 2009, 06:20 PM
Related to posting: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1029398

Since Amarok isn't supporting the .oga filetypes currently (will play but not index into collection, so it is as if the files do not exist) I need to know how to batch rename the file extensions in my music folder from .oga to .ogg as this is a known fix for this problem while Amarok figures out if this is a high priority fix or not. I'm a total noob, I need as much instruction as possible.

Thanks.

kaibob
January 3rd, 2009, 06:23 PM
One option is to use the command-line utility rename. To use this, open a terminal window, change to the directory containing the files, and enter:

rename -n 's/oga$/ogg/' *.oga

The -n option directs rename to do a dry run and report proposed changes. If all appears well, change -n to -v to actually rename the files.

pdtpatrick
January 3rd, 2009, 06:23 PM
write a for loop script that would check for instances of .oga and use sed to replace to the new extension.

or create a regular script to scan your folder where you have these files and then have the result's extensions changed to what you like.

pdtpatrick
January 3rd, 2009, 06:25 PM
write a for loop script that would check for instances of .oga and use sed to replace to the new extension.

or create a regular script to scan your folder where you have these files and then have the result's extensions changed to what you like.

pdtpatrick
January 3rd, 2009, 06:26 PM
wow didnt know that command.. i learned something new here as well :)

lavinog
January 3rd, 2009, 06:28 PM
for FILE in *.oga
do
mv -v "${FILE}" "${FILE%.oga}.ogg"
done

or for a one liner

for FILE in *.oga;do mv -v "${FILE}" "${FILE%.oga}.ogg";done

and if you want to test it out first:

for FILE in *.oga;do echo "${FILE}" "${FILE%.oga}.ogg";done

lavinog
January 3rd, 2009, 06:31 PM