PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] WG311v3 help

ididntdoit52
January 3rd, 2009, 01:16 AM
Alright so I'm a newbie to linux and I can't figure out how to get my network adapter (the Netgear WG311v3) to work. I'm pretty sure I have to use ndiswwrapper but I can't figure out how it works. So can anyone link me a guide or explain how to get this damn card to work? And remember I'm new to linux so your gonna have to speak slowly and use small words ;)

inb4 google. I spent all last night looking for guides and threads.

melojo
January 3rd, 2009, 01:19 AM
open a terminal and post the output of

lspci
sudo lshw -C netowrk
ifconfig
uname -rm

this will give us more info

ididntdoit52
January 3rd, 2009, 01:25 AM
Wow. Ubuntu forums are fast. Alright gimme a second, I'm trying to get my mouse working now.:sad:

ididntdoit52
January 3rd, 2009, 01:53 AM
Ok here they are.

ididntdoit52
January 3rd, 2009, 02:16 AM
bump

melojo
January 3rd, 2009, 02:18 AM
What I understand about this device is that you need to use ndiswrapper with windows xp driver.

I have to leave for a little bit and after I get back I will type out what to install.

If someone else wants to help please chime in. If no one asnwers the post for an a couple of hours or so I would bump it.

ididntdoit52
January 3rd, 2009, 04:45 AM
bump

impalerau
January 3rd, 2009, 06:23 AM
OK, I just did this last night to replace a card I was having problems with...

First find the Windows XP drivers folder on your Netgear CD and copy all the files to your desktop. Then follow these instructions...

1. Open a terminal window (Applications -> Accessories -> Terminal). In the window, type the following to switch to the directory containing the driver files:

cd /home/<username>/Desktop

Replace <username> with your own username.

2. To install the driver, type the following:

sudo ndiswrapper -i filename.inf

Replace filename.inf with the name of the .inf file you discovered in the previous steps.

3. Next, type the following: