PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Building project

Orangefromwin
January 2nd, 2009, 07:29 PM
Hello, yesterday as part of a new years resolution I decided that I should build a Linux PC as I have no experience outside of Windows (however this is being typed on a iPod touch if that means anything) within a few hours of research I decided that I want to use Ubuntu. I ordered my cd and now I'm trying to pick out the parts I want to use. Is there anything I should be aware of moving on? What motherboards, memory and cards don't work with ubuntu? Thanks.:KS

handydan918
January 2nd, 2009, 07:43 PM
General principal:
Avoid cutting edge stuff. Stick with tech that's at least a year or two old, and you will minimise any compatibility issues.

zephyrcat
January 2nd, 2009, 07:45 PM
Alright, having built a couple of machines, here is a quick run down of what I know:

RAM (Memory), PSU, HD, CD/DVD - anything should work, no problems
Motherboards - Everything should be fine, except possibly for motherboards that have unusual features, such as WiFi. In those cases, check the reviews.
WiFi Cards - CHECK! Avoid 802.11 N if possible.
Graphics Cards - nVidia is fine if your OK with proprietary drivers, some ATI cards have open-source drivers, but you should check.

Might post back with other details later. Good luck!

LowSky
January 2nd, 2009, 08:01 PM
General principal:
Avoid cutting edge stuff. Stick with tech that's at least a year or two old, and you will minimise any compatibility issues.

What are you talking about!!!!
Things like motherboard and processors should all work fine.
I'm running a AMD Phenom 9950, its as cutting edge as AMD gets and it runs perfectly. Also any RAM you buy will run fine.

The only thing to be careful of is Graphics cards, stick to Nvidia for best results (8600GT is a decent card for cheap these days)

As for Keyboards and mice, most USB devices work good, some people report issue with wireless mice and keyboard but mine (logitech worked fine)