PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Wi-Fi help needed for beginner

hointz
January 2nd, 2009, 02:03 PM
Hi.

I am new to Linux and need some help connecting my computer to my Wi-Fi net to my old computer.

I am trying to connect via PCMCIA-card based Wi-Fi from 3COM called: 3CRWE154G72. The card did work on my windows. Now it can see some of the networks around, but can not connect to my router.

XUbuntu 8.10
3COM OfficeConnect 3CRWE154G72 Wi-Fi card
Apple Airport Extreme router

What do i do? Can someone please help? :-)

Hointz

southerngrey
January 2nd, 2009, 02:09 PM
Can you open up a terminal and paste the output from:

ifconfig
&
iwconfig

hointz
January 2nd, 2009, 02:22 PM
IFCONFIG:

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:184 (184.0 B) TX bytes:184 (184.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:12:a9:c6:d0:9c
inet6 addr: fe80::212:a9ff:fec6:d09c/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:2016 (2.0 KB)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-12-A9-C6-D0-9C-30-39-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

IWCONFIG:

lo no wireless extensions.

wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"B2C Full Access 11"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=27 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr=2352 B
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0