PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Make ndiswrapper -> Cannot find kernel version in

Nicsoft
December 29th, 2008, 12:23 PM
Hello,

I am new to Linux (so please, be humble...:D) and I am trying to get my wireless card to work (WMP54G, Ralink rt61 chipset) using ndiswrapper.

When I try to make ndiswrapper i get

sudo make
make -C driver
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/niklas/Desktop/ndiswrapper-1.53/driver'
Makefile:34: *** Cannot find kernel version in /lib/modules/2.6.27-7-server/build, is it configured?. Stop.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/niklas/Desktop/ndiswrapper-1.53/driver'
make: *** [all] Error 2

The headers are installed and the source to, I think. Perhaps I don't get the links correct configured? I created the link in this way:

sudo ln -s /usr/src/linux-source-2.6.27 /lib/modules/2.6.27-7-server/build and when that is done I have the following link in /lib/modules/2.6.27-7-server/build: linux-source-2.6.27. Or to make it more clear:

$ pwd
lib/modules/2.6.27-7-server/build

$ ls -l
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 28 2008-12-29 11:12 linux-source-2.6.27 -> /usr/src/linux-source-2.6.27

Is this correct? How come the kernel version isn't found there? I can find it in /usr/src/linux-source-2.6.27

$ pwd
/usr/src/linux-source-2.6.27

$ ls
//among other things
kernel-version

Any ideas?

Thank you in advance!

Regards,
Niklas

cdtech
December 29th, 2008, 12:28 PM
Why not install it through the "Synaptic Package Manager"?

kevdog
December 29th, 2008, 02:16 PM
You don't need to make any symbolic links

sudo aptitude install linux-headers-`uname -r` build-essential

Nicsoft
December 29th, 2008, 03:03 PM
Hello,

Thanks for the quick answers.

I think I have done both of your suggestions (probably more than once...).

In Synaptic Package Manager, the ndiswrapper-utils-1.9 and ndiswrapper-common is marked as already installed.

The actual reason why I want to do this is because when I am trying to do

sudo modprobe ndiswrapper I get