PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] connecting to wireless network

abbio2004
December 29th, 2008, 05:28 AM
hi
im new to ubuntu

i jsut installed ubuntu intrepid 8.10 on my dell inspiron 7000.
i want to connect to my home network with a usb wireless card but when i insert the cd to install it, it says i dont have permission.
so i read about ndisgtk and the wrapper, i tried downloading it but i dont know how to install it on the program. im not even sure wich one to download
i desperatly need help, im thinking about going back to windows!!!

kevdog
December 29th, 2008, 05:37 AM
Couple of things:

Quit the I'm going back to Windows whining and threat. It will get you no where.

You are going to have to provide more information about your wireless device as far as chipset, etc. No one here unless they are clarvoyent is going to be able to tell you what driver you need unless you provide more information.

lsusb -v should be a starting point.

abbio2004
December 29th, 2008, 05:43 AM
i have a linksys wireless G usb network adapter

it has a cd but it wont let me install it

kevdog
December 29th, 2008, 05:47 AM
Ok, great

That is somewhat helpful, but not very helpful. Things are done a little differently in the land of linux compared to windows. Once you learn how to install drivers and such the process isn't so complicated, but the first few times you do it, its very confusing.

Please open a terminal prompt and type

lsusb -v

And then post the results. I'm really only after the line that describes your usb wireless dongle.

abbio2004
December 29th, 2008, 05:54 AM
after the description it says
"can't get hub descriptor"
cannot read device status, operation not permitted(1)

kevdog
December 29th, 2008, 05:58 AM
That is really wierd -- did you boot with the device plugged in?

abbio2004
December 29th, 2008, 06:05 AM
no
i mean it tells me all the info like:
bus 001 Device: ID 1737:0075 Linksys
blength 18
bdescriptorType 1
bcdusb 2.00
bdeviceclass 255 Vendor specific class