PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu to USB Flash Drive (with partitions)

nosoupforyou
December 29th, 2008, 02:12 AM
Firstly I'm completely new to gnu/linux and this is my first post so Hi, I hope this question isn't too noobish (I read a ton of documentation) I am mainly a windows user but decided to try a live cd on an old PC before trashing it. Now I'm becoming closer to 60/40 and I like the idea of using a USB (8GB, 25MB/s read/write for $30!) to keep my OS with me on the go since all my non-geek friends have horribly bloated PCs.

Basically, my problem is when I install ubuntu to my usb drive (sandisk 8gb cruzer contour) I cannot access any files on my usb drive outside of the casper-rw (I believe it is called) file that is set to a predetermined size when creating a usb-boot disk using the tool included in ubuntu 8.10.

I thought creating another partition would work since I cannot mount the usb drive that ubuntu is installed on in ubuntu. This way I can keep ubuntu and the casper-rw file on one partition and all my documents I want available on the drive for both ubuntu and windows on the other partition. Will this solve my problem or is there a better way, everywhere I looked stated that you cannot create multiple partitions on a usb flash drive, or at least have both partitions visible in windows.

The only option that seems plausible is that my drive came with U3 so I have two partitions on my flash drive, one that is meant to look like a CD, could I re-size these partitions and install ubuntu on one of them and since the second partition is made to look like a CD drive, will that mean it will boot in a bios that can check for cds but not usbs? I am guessing no since it is probably only formatted with CDFS but I don't know too much about that topic.

-Also, is it possible to re-size the casper-rw file after installing ubuntu or does this require you to reinstall ubuntu?