PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] no partitions detected

rudi009
December 28th, 2008, 01:40 AM
Hello people..
I'm new to ubuntu and and i'm not able to inatall ubuntu with the livw CD.here is the problem..
I've three partitions on my hard drive two are NTFS and one is FAT32.when i click install in ubutu it doesn't show any partition. I want to inatall ubuntu on fat32 10GB partition. please help..:confused:

Partyboi2
December 28th, 2008, 02:25 AM
Make sure that the partitions are unmounted before running the installer you can unmount then by going to Places>Computer and right click on the drive and choose to unmount..

rudi009
December 28th, 2008, 02:55 AM
hey buddy..that didn't help..installer shows one single disk.help....:confused:

rudi009
December 28th, 2008, 03:24 AM
somebody help please...:(:(

-kg-
December 28th, 2008, 04:26 AM
I've three partitions on my hard drive two are NTFS and one is FAT32.when i click install in ubutu it doesn't show any partition. I want to inatall ubuntu on fat32 10GB partition.

You're trying to install Ubuntu on a FAT32 partition? I'm not sure that would work.

What method are you using for the partitioning section of the installation? I'm not sure, but if you can install Ubuntu on a FAT32 partition, you would still need a Swap partition, and using the manual installation method you would need to flag the FAT32 partition as "/" so that the installer would know where to install. You would also need to create the /swap partition and flag that as such.

Why would you want to install Ubuntu in a FAT partition? There's bad fragmentation issues with FAT, and a host of other problems. NTFS is little better. And ext2/3 is a Unix/Linux file system; a file system that is native to it.

(Edit:) You know, there is a way to install Ubuntu on a Windows partition:

WUBI (https://wiki.ubuntu.com/WubiGuide)