PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Load on Startup



efledderman
December 27th, 2008, 02:36 AM
Ok, so I have a hell of a time getting my wireless working, but I finally did. I fixed it with this code:


wget http://wireless.kernel.org/download/compat-wireless-2.6/compat-wireless-2008-10-31.tar.bz2
tar jxvf compat-wireless-2.6.tar.bz2
cd compat-wireless-2008-10-31
make
sudo make install
sudo make unload
sudo make loadThe only issue that I have not, is that I have to rerun this part of the code every time Ubuntu starts up:



cd compat-wireless-2008-10-31
make
sudo make install
sudo make unload
sudo make loadIs there someway to get this code to stick so it doesn't need to be re-ran?

thomas228
December 27th, 2008, 03:31 AM
Ok, so I have a hell of a time getting my wireless working, but I finally did. I fixed it with this code:


wget http://wireless.kernel.org/download/compat-wireless-2.6/compat-wireless-2008-10-31.tar.bz2
tar jxvf compat-wireless-2.6.tar.bz2
cd compat-wireless-2008-10-31
make
sudo make install
sudo make unload
sudo make loadThe only issue that I have not, is that I have to rerun this part of the code every time Ubuntu starts up:



cd compat-wireless-2008-10-31
make
sudo make install
sudo make unload
sudo make loadIs there someway to get this code to stick so it doesn't need to be re-ran?

Hi

I'm not sure I can help you very easily as it has been awhile since I installed my AR5007 Atheros madwifi Hardy

I was lucky enough to print post#1 of http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=795984
and download the madwifi aircracked tar package

If you installed the 32bit Ubuntu Hardy OS I may be able to help you but it is quite involved so let me know if you want a little more help and I'll see what I can do.

Let me know

Tom

efledderman
December 27th, 2008, 04:46 AM
Well, I'm for sure would love the help, but to clear things up... I actually have 32bit Intrepid.

kevdog
December 27th, 2008, 05:16 AM
You could stick those commands on the /etc/rc.local file -- commands in this file are run at startup (you dont need the sudo prefix). Place the commands prior to the exit at the bottom of the file.

ubuntubrian
January 18th, 2009, 09:45 PM
I have the exact same issue. Is there no "official" solution?