PDA

View Full Version : DirecTV question



J0sh25
December 18th, 2008, 08:42 PM
Ok so i have set up a Mythbuntu Front end/Back end and now i have to specify a listing grabber. Is there any way i can use DirecTV's guide from the receiver? I don't have the internet at this house so i can't use the xmltv grabbers. Any help would be appreciated.

ian dobson
December 18th, 2008, 09:04 PM
Hi,

What tuners do you have? If you've got DVB- then just enable "over the air" epg. In europe you can also get EPG from analog tuners using nxtvepg (http://nxtvepg.sourceforge.net/)

Regards
Ian Dobson

J0sh25
December 18th, 2008, 09:20 PM
I have a Hauppauge PVR-150 MCE. It doesn't seem to be able to find any signals coming from the D12 DirecTV box though.

tgm4883
December 19th, 2008, 05:33 AM
I have a Hauppauge PVR-150 MCE. It doesn't seem to be able to find any signals coming from the D12 DirecTV box though.

No you can not.

J0sh25
December 19th, 2008, 06:23 AM
No, as in i cannot use the D12 box or No i cannot use DirecTV's own guide?

tgm4883
December 19th, 2008, 10:13 AM
No, as in i cannot use the D12 box or No i cannot use DirecTV's own guide?

You cannot use DirecTV's guide.

J0sh25
December 20th, 2008, 02:20 AM
Is there any way i can use mythbuntu without being connected to the internet?

yabbadabbadont
December 20th, 2008, 02:29 AM
I believe that you can manually program it like you would a VCR.

J0sh25
December 20th, 2008, 04:41 AM
Would you know of any way i could do this? i just got this thing built and i don't want all that time and money wasted.

yabbadabbadont
December 20th, 2008, 06:54 AM
Nope, sorry. I just remember that it was possible to do from reading about other people's experiences with it... (that's why I used the word 'believe' :D)

You might try searching the MythTV users mailing list archives here:
http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/mythtv/users/

and possibly ask for help on this there too.