PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Setting up a router/webserver.

audreykitching
December 18th, 2008, 05:08 AM
First i like to say hi to all here since i just registered =)
And now to my situation, i've got a Dell Poweredge 2400 server with these specs:
CPU: 2x733mhz P3
RAM: 1gb
HDD: 3x36gb scsi
NIC: It got 3 nics installed (1 on the motherboard, 2 pci).

What i want to do is that i want to use it as a router and webserver.
I've used linux (slack/deb/ubuntu) for some time (running ubuntu 8.10 on my laptop for example).

But now when it comes to routing i'm a complete newbie =)
It's going to share internet to my other computers in the apartment using my D-Link gigabit switch.

So if anyone knows any good beginners guide or so it would be great.

Although i dont know if i should stick to debian on this or install Ubuntu Server instead.

Thnx for reading.

devonps
December 18th, 2008, 11:45 AM
It would be easier and more secure if you were to purchase a dedicated router and configured your Poweredge to be a dedicated webserver.

You can go to any of the online retailers and purchase a hardware router - they aren't that expensive, my favourites are Netgear - as I find them easy to configure and maintain.

As for the O/S it won't really matter as you may/will probably end up installing Apache as your web server.

Hope this helps,

Steve.

audreykitching
December 18th, 2008, 12:47 PM
Well, i dislike normal hardware routers because i had a few problems with them before.

I have a 100/100mbit fiberlink and do not want to throttle that because of a cheap "homerouter".

If i want the throughput i need its gonna cost me but if i build my own router it has more power and will hopefully not throttle.

Thnx anyway for your input.

Edit: seems like i found i needed, stumbled upon EnGarde Linux.
It's a linuxrouterdist with LAMP built in =)

http://engardelinux.org/modules/index/features.cgi

Might be some more people here who wants this or even has tried it.

devonps