PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Multiple questions about xubuntu, please answer!

NonStop
December 16th, 2008, 04:37 PM
My brother has got a free (given by a mate) laptop. The specs are Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional, Service Pack 4, 18GB hard drive (split into a 10 GIG partition for Windows and a 8 GIG partition for data), 391 MB RAM, not sure about the processor, and it some sort of Sony Vaio (on the right hand bottom corner it says PCG-FX105K but on the bottom of the laptop it says model PCG-9536).

Basically, I was thinking it might be wise to install xubuntu on it, as even with the low specs it would still run well. However, I've never done it before, and so have a few questions.

If I was to do just a normal install, would it wipe out the data from both partitions, would it install onto one only, or what?

What software can be installed onto it? Can openoffice be installed? What about some kind of chatting client which can handle msn chatting?

What are the chances of it working through wireless?

What are the chances of it working through Ethernet?

Finally, what are the chances of it working on this laptop?

nandemonai
December 16th, 2008, 04:42 PM
My brother has got a free (given by a mate) laptop. The specs are Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional, Service Pack 4, 18GB hard drive (split into a 10 GIG partition for Windows and a 8 GIG partition for data), 391 MB RAM, not sure about the processor, and it some sort of Sony Vaio (on the right hand bottom corner it says PCG-FX105K but on the bottom of the laptop it says model PCG-9536).

Basically, I was thinking it might be wise to install xubuntu on it, as even with the low specs it would still run well. However, I've never done it before, and so have a few questions.

If I was to do just a normal install, would it wipe out the data from both partitions, would it install onto one only, or what?