PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Backing up mails in Evolution for outlook

pinchbear
December 16th, 2008, 09:20 AM
Hi all,

I am new to ubuntu. I installed it as dual boot with windows XP just to check it out. Then I configured our office Exchange server to Evolution. But I missed the setting "Leave messages on server". Because of that, when I synchronise evolution with exchange, it cleared the messages in server. But I have them in evolution.
So is there a way to send those mails back to the server? Or to back these mails in a format readable by Outlook?
Pls help
:confused:
Thanks in advance guys..

uniqueumang
December 16th, 2008, 09:30 AM
Ever thought of downloading and installing thunderbird . You can download it using synaptic package manager , and u can install on windows too :)

pinchbear
December 16th, 2008, 09:34 AM
Yup,
I did it. But after configuring evolution. Now the problem is I dont have any mail in the server. How to get them??
Thanks for the reply mate.

uniqueumang
December 16th, 2008, 09:41 AM
This is troubleshooting from gmail for thunderbird . I hope it helps.

http://mail.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=38343

hyper_ch
December 16th, 2008, 09:46 AM
don't you have IMAP on the server? IMAP normally leaves mails on the server while "POP3 leaving mail on server" is just a "hack" IMHO.

pinchbear
December 16th, 2008, 09:47 AM
Thanks for the help mate. I want retrieve my mails back to the server buddy. Any help regarding that?
Thanks

hyper_ch
December 16th, 2008, 09:52 AM
if the server supports IMAP then it's fairly simple.

pinchbear
December 16th, 2008, 09:57 AM
Ya. Server supports IMAP. Can I use it to synchronise the mails I have in evolution to the server?
Thanks.

hyper_ch
December 16th, 2008, 12:38 PM
well, I assume you currently have all the mails downloaded. So I'd:

(1) setup another email account in evolution using IMAP
(2) disable automatic POP3 checking of the current account
then