PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Sharing files between Ubuntu and Mac OS X

Goombie
December 16th, 2008, 06:13 AM
Ok, here's what I want to do:
Share a folder with some business files (on my computer, running Ubuntu Hardy) with my sister's Macbook running MAC OS X Leopard. I want her to be able to read/write the files from her computer, and save the changes to my computer over the network. Both computers are on the same wireless network.
I've read a bunch of different guides, but I have little experience with Samba, and I haven't been able to make anything work yet. I've gotten as far as her being able to see the files, but only opening them as read only which isn't enough. Any help would be appreciated! :popcorn:
Also, I want to share a USB printer connected to my computer over the network so she can use it from her Mac, but that's a low priority right now. :)

nixscripter
December 17th, 2008, 12:31 AM
For the file sharing, I would suggest NFS instead of Samba. A guide can be found here: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SettingUpNFSHowTo

The Mac should be able to detect it once you have it set up.

As for the printer, I would suggest sharing it over CUPS. This would allow the Mac to add an IPP printer. Instructions for Debian (which might also work for Ubuntu) are here: http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?t=10438

Hope this helps.

Goombie
January 1st, 2009, 06:21 PM
Yeah, those should help me. Thanks! :D
If I understand what you said correctly, I just need to set up the NFS server on my Ubuntu box, and then the Mac will detect my shared files?

If I have any problems, I'll post them here and plead for help some more. :)

Goombie
January 2nd, 2009, 02:42 AM
Sorry for double-posting, but I'm still running into trouble. Basically, I've tried NFS and gotten an error (the directory I'm sharing doesn't support NFS export), and I haven't been able to get it working with Samba, either. So I'm back to square one.