PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Files gone after installing Ubuntu

Torrot
December 15th, 2008, 08:58 PM
Hi, I'm new to Linux, I have installed Ubuntu 8 from live CD and due to lack of HD space I had to install it into existing Fat32 partition. I don't remember Ubuntu installer telling me that it would format the partition or erase anything (I thought it would just use the needed space, like windows would do and leave all other files alone), but looks like I can't access the data that was on that disk anymore. In fact this disk isn't accessable from windows anymore at all. And I can't find the data when booted to Ubunto too, so looks like the data is gone.

Can I do anything to restore the data?

Songwind
December 15th, 2008, 09:04 PM
Unfortunately, no. If you formatted the drive, it's pretty much gone.

Michael.Godawski
December 15th, 2008, 09:04 PM
Hi, I'm new to Linux, I have installed Ubuntu 8 from live CD and due to lack of HD space I had to install it into existing Fat32 partition. I don't remember Ubuntu installer telling me that it would format the partition or erase anything (I thought it would just use the needed space, like windows would do and leave all other files alone), but looks like I can't access the data that was on that disk anymore. In fact this disk isn't accessable from windows anymore at all. And I can't find the data when booted to Ubunto too, so looks like the data is gone.

Can I do anything to restore the data?

I am afraid no.
When you are in Ubuntu please run this terminal and post the output here:

sudo fdisk -l
Type in your password when needed and hit enter.

Viranh
December 15th, 2008, 09:21 PM