PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] total noob: need wireless help

muxenle
December 15th, 2008, 07:56 AM
okay first off sorry if this should go in the starter form, but since the problem here is dealing with wireless networks(though the problem is more likely me just missing something right under my nose).

I just instaled ubuntu studio 8.10 on a 18gig partition on my laptop; a Acer Aspire 57202. It seems to recoginize my wireless card and have some kind driver for it, but it I can't seem to figure out how to connect to my network. I've found a help section but I can't find where it is telling me to go.... the network manager or something, and all I can find is network tools.

So ya, nothing really clear there at all but if you can offer any help it would be greatly appericated. If you want any more info I'll be glad to get it for you, but you'll mostly likely need to tell me what to do.

If this is in the wrong forum please tell me and I'll repost in the right forum(and once again sorry if I did pick the wrong forum)

Also sorry for the spelling, my I can't seem to get my web browsers spell checker to work for me, and I'm rather tired at the moment...

muxenle
December 16th, 2008, 12:34 AM
bump

falcon61102
December 16th, 2008, 01:01 AM
The Network Manager app is normally in the upper-right hand corner of your screen and either looks like two monitors or some signal bars. If you click on it, it should show you the Wireless Access Points in range. If you do not see any access points, then it is possible that your wireless card needs some configuration.

Try clicking on the network manager. If you don't see any access points, open up a terminal window by going to Applications>Accessories>Terminal. Then run the following command:

sudo lshw -C network

That should display some information about your network card.

BTW, this is the right forum for this typs of problem. And welcome to the forum.

yogo
December 16th, 2008, 01:12 AM