PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No window manager?



ScottEChapman
December 14th, 2008, 10:01 PM
So, I have installed the server edition, and it boots up in console command line mode

(sorry for being a big of a Linux noob)

But I was expecting to have some window manager running (gnome, kde, or something).

How do I fix this??

theozzlives
December 14th, 2008, 10:06 PM
The server doesn't have GNOME, however, you can do:

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

secondstage
December 14th, 2008, 10:08 PM
At the command line you get type...

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop
... Put in your password, and let it do its thing. Reboot, and it should automatically go into Gnome.


Too late. My bad.

howefield
December 14th, 2008, 10:23 PM
If you intended to install the server edition to use it as a server, you might want to get a lighter window manager than gnome which you will get with ubuntu-desktop.

eg, xfce4. There are many others which won't eat so many processor cycles, although how much of a concern that is these days with processors being so fast and high end, I' not sure.