PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] DNS Problems



Counter
December 13th, 2008, 10:04 AM
I have a Server hosting a website that the ip has recently change and I had to go resetup my Dns server. Now before this I could simply type my address like mysite.com and it would find it ok , now it will simply not. I have to type www.mysite in order for it to find it . Im sure it something simple , but ive messed with is alot and could use some help.Also wonder if maybe because my ISP has control of my reverse lookups if this could be a factor? Thanks


$ttl 38400
mysite.com. IN SOA server1.mysite.com. jesse.mysite.com.
(
1219374769
10800
3600
604800
38400 )
mysite.com. IN NS server1.mysite.com.
ftp.mysite.com. IN CNAME mysite.com.
mysite.com. IN MX 10 mysite.com.
mysite.com. IN A 111.11.11.111
www.mysite.com. IN CNAME mysite.com.
mail.mysite.com. IN CNAME mysite.com.
173.20.32.201.mysite.com. IN PTR mysite.com.
server1.mysite.com. IN CNAME mysite.com.

MJN
December 13th, 2008, 12:01 PM
Tell us your real domain, and post your unaltered configuration, otherwise it makes fault diagnosis of this type of problem infinitely more difficult.

Assuming it is wartactics.net your fault description does not fit the current configuration.

Resolving wartactics.net we get:


$ dig wartactics.net a

; <<>> DiG 9.3.2-P2.1 <<>> wartactics.net a
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 35281
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;wartactics.net. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
wartactics.net. 38216 IN A 173.20.32.201

;; Query time: 21 msec
;; SERVER: 208.67.222.222#53(208.67.222.222)
;; WHEN: Sat Dec 13 11:00:16 2008
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 48 Whereas attempting to resolve www.wartactics.net (http://www.wartactics.net) we get:


$ dig www.wartactics.net a

; <<>> DiG 9.3.2-P2.1 <<>> www.wartactics.net a
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 44179
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.wartactics.net. IN A

;; Query time: 401 msec
;; SERVER: 208.67.222.222#53(208.67.222.222)
;; WHEN: Sat Dec 13 11:00:52 2008
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 36Hence it is www. which is not working - the opposite of what you described.

Your PTR record is also wrong, but won't have any bearing on this problem.

Mathew

bluefrog
December 13th, 2008, 12:53 PM
www IN A IP ## www.example.com will respond
@ IN A IP ## example.com will respond
* IN A IP ## anything.example.com will respond (including www)

takes time also for the DNS to propagate

martien
December 13th, 2008, 01:04 PM
You have to set the new ip to your nameservers (or create new nameservers) and point your domain to them. As I see from your zone file i'm wondering how can you run your domain with only one NS, when the registrant would not let you do that. I think if its a top level domain (com,net,org,biz...) it must have at least 2 nameservers.