PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Newbie needs network help!!!

lewbram
December 12th, 2008, 01:03 PM
Hey guys
I am a total newbie not long had 'intrepid' working and I am trying to linkup my laptop (XP) to share files and an internet connection.

i.s.p. is virgin cable

I have a wired router

two network ports....one that the internet goes into.

the ways I think it works is:-

cable from unused network port into router, then from router to lap top?

or should it be virgin modem to router then router to desktop and laptop?

From there I have no idea how to configure it all!

any advice or tutorials anybody knows of would be a great help

Thanks

ibizatunes
December 12th, 2008, 01:29 PM
The sharing of file with XP you will need to install samba,
Your router should provide the internet connection to your xp and linux boxes should get the IP address from there

ianhaycox
December 12th, 2008, 01:30 PM
Sounds like you need to change the IP address of your second router.

Not familiar with the Virgin cable setup but does the PC work connected directly to the virgin box ? If yes, then you should cable from the virgin box to your router then two cables from the new router to each pc.

Before you hook up the virgin to router connection connect your pc to the new router, power on and browse to http://192.168.1.1 Hopefully there should be a config page to change the address of the new router. Change it to something like 192.168.2.1 and save. For ease, power everything down, connect virgin to new router, restart everything and you should be good to go.

If not, then post more details about your hardware.

lewbram
December 12th, 2008, 01:47 PM
Thanks guys I have an exam now, will give it a go and get back to you tonight.

Thanks again

lewbram
December 12th, 2008, 06:10 PM
Hey I have tried this but nothing happens when i browse
http://192.168.1.1

The current situation is

desktop (ubuntu)
laptop (XP)

internet going into router, from router toboth desktop and laptop