PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Struggling Newbie, no sound, Gnome changes

Biped
December 12th, 2008, 12:09 PM
Total Noob here so bear with me. Have been hearing so much about linux that I took the plunge and bought a Toshiba NB100 with Ubuntu 8.04 installed to see how I would get on. So far 12 hours spent and considering just forgetting it and giving up.

Here is what happened. System arrived, started it, got it online - great.
It went off and did an update (current rev 100 days old). I let it run that as I thought I might as well have everything current. Downloaded info and installed. Asked me if I wanted to change config files or keep originals - said keep. Rebooted, all looks fine then I see speaker symbol has red circle and line through it. Don't have right Gstreamer plugins istalalled. No sound at all.

Started checking this forum an went through this thread http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=205449
Tried aplay -1 nothing
lspci shows
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Unknown device ff7b
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 11
Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: <access denied>
Tried to install as per sudo modprobe snd-intel8x0
no joy
Tried to remove the problematic packages as suggested and reinstall
no joy
however that did mess up the automatic startuo into Gnome, now I get the terminal login and have to type startx to get Gnome
Lost shutdown option in Gnome also and can only log off back to the shell.
Still no sound by the way so it looks like I have caused more issues than if I had done nothing.

This is where I am at the moment when I type: modinfo soundcore

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Unknown device ff7b
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 11