PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] white flashing screen with nvidia 8200

dgtlkttn
December 12th, 2008, 10:09 AM
Hi there,

I have just installed the nvidia drivers and pretty much sorted thanks to the help from the guys here. I do however have a flickering white overlay on top of the display. Its pretty much impossible to look att eh screen any longer than a few minutes, due to the strobe effect. There is also a darker band at the bottom about 3 inches tall.

I'm running a nvidia 8200 card
ubuntu 8.10 64 bit

I am an absolute beginner, and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time :)

Peter09
December 12th, 2008, 10:17 AM
Are you sure the nvidia driver is running?

lshw -C display

Can you post the output

Michael.Godawski
December 12th, 2008, 10:23 AM
hi again dgtlkttn,
we just managed to install the drivers for your nvidia.

But now I am convinced that it was not the best idea to start with the drivers from the site, but to use the application Envy. Many glitches like the one you describe could be solved with it.

Hands on work

download the application:
sudo apt-get install envyng-gtk
Uninstall the driver from NVIDIA's installer:

cd path_to_the_nvidia_installer
sudo sh name_of_the_nvidia_installer --uninstall
Then you can run EnvyNG and select the "Install" function. Run EnvyNG's installer by typing:

sudo envyng-gtk

dgtlkttn
December 12th, 2008, 10:52 AM
Are you sure the nvidia driver is running?

lshw -C display

Can you post the output

Hi Peter,

Here we go...

digitalkitten@digitalkitten:~$ lshw -C display
WARNING: you should run this program as super-user.
*-display
description: VGA compatible controller
product: GeForce 8100 / nForce 720a
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
version: a2
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=nvidia latency=0 module=nvidia

Thanks

dgtlkttn
December 12th, 2008, 11:21 AM
hi again dgtlkttn,