PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Alsamixer in 8.10?



mapes12
December 11th, 2008, 09:04 PM
Screwed my sound up in 8.04 so decided to do a fresh install of 8.10 on this Thinkpad T23. Partitions are:

sda1 - /
sda3 - /home
sda5 - Swap

Installed 8.10 from a live CD. At the partitioning stage I edited the configuration to format sda1 and install "/"

sda3 and sda5 were edited to be used as /home and swap respectively but not formatted. All went well. Install went fine with all personal settings and files preserved.

However, sound still does not work. In Terminal
alsamixerbrings up the attached thumbnail. As you can see Card and Chip are labelled PulseAudio but at the top the label is Alsamixer v1.0.17

Would I be right to assume that 8.10 now uses PulseAudio. If so why is the top label still Alsamixer? And given that I have retained my previous /home is this something to do with why sound still doesn't work??

I've been grappling with this for 2 days now and it's driving me nuts.

halitech
December 11th, 2008, 09:07 PM
its showing alsamixer because that is what you ran. in a terminal, post the output of

aplay -l

mapes12
December 11th, 2008, 09:13 PM
Here we go
mark@ubuntu-laptop:~$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: I82801CAICH3 [Intel 82801CA-ICH3], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel 82801CA-ICH3]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
mark@ubuntu-laptop:~$

halitech
December 11th, 2008, 09:26 PM
try this in a terminal

sudo asoundconf set-default-card ICH3
might need to reboot to get it to work

mapes12
December 11th, 2008, 09:41 PM
try this in a terminal

sudo asoundconf set-default-card ICH3
might need to reboot to get it to workDid that and reboot but still no sound:confused:

halitech
December 11th, 2008, 09:42 PM
do you have a set of external speakers or headphones? maybe its outputting to them instead of your built in speakers.

mapes12
December 11th, 2008, 09:48 PM
do you have a set of external speakers or headphones? maybe its outputting to them instead of your built in speakers.Known working headphones hooked up but still no sound:confused: