PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Is ubuntu really for me?

hortstu
December 11th, 2008, 07:19 AM
Hello,

This is my first post. I haven't downloaded Ubuntu or even know how yet. I'm a complete newb when it comes to this stuff. I don't even know if I fit into the "absolute beginner talk" category.

I have an acquaintance that has been trying to convince me to switch to linux for a while now. I basically know how to use the internet. I'm intimidated by the time I might have to invest in getting a linux OS up and running and anything I might screw up along the way.

Said acquaintance recommended I download "intrepid ibex" and partition my drive so that I still have windows.

I don't know where to start or if I even should.
Is Ubuntu really for someone like me?

AnLGP
December 11th, 2008, 07:24 AM
If you're going to start off using a linux distribution (OS) then Ubuntu is the best one to get started with, in my opinion.

What I would do if I were you is (just in your head) think of a small list of reasons why you'd want to try it out. The obvious choices for me were the FLOSS (Free Libre Open Source Software) programs and philosophy behind Ubuntu (it's all free!) and the security and customization.

I'm a computer geek but if you come up with something and you're willing to put a small bit of time into learning how to partition your hard drive (it's not difficult) and installing Ubuntu (even less difficult) then I definitely think it's for you.

If you can't think of any reason to try stick with windows :)

jrusso2
December 11th, 2008, 07:24 AM
In my opinion no, Unless your friend is willing to work with you on the install and configuration.

hortstu
December 11th, 2008, 07:30 AM
I'm a computer geek but if you come up with something and you're willing to put a small bit of time into learning how to partition your hard drive (it's not difficult) and installing Ubuntu (even less difficult) then I definitely think it's for you.